Circulation Policies
This is the "Home" page of the "Government Information" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Government Information  

Information about the UI Library Federal Depository Library Collection
Last Updated: Oct 30, 2014 URL: http://libguides.uidaho.edu/Documents Print Guide

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

FDLP Program

The Federal Depository Library Program was initiated by Congress in 1813. Today the Government Printing Office oversees the program under the authority of Title 44 of the United States Code. The University of Idaho Library joined the program in 1907. In 1967, the UI Library became a regional depository, meaning it acquires 100% of items issued by GPO through the FDLP Program. As a regional, the library also oversees eight other selective depositories in the state of Idaho. 

 

Welcome

The University of Idaho Library is the Regional Depository for U.S. Government Documents for the state of Idaho. The collection consists of more than 675,000 paper documents, 800,000 microforms, 200,000 maps, 7,500 CD-ROMs, and more than 25,000 online publications. This comprehensive and unique collection offers free access to more than 1.7 million items to all users. Unconstrained access to federal documents helps to inform and empower students and residents of Idaho to become better citizens.

(Documents may be requested at the ciruclation desk after hours.)

 

News and Timely Documents

October 30, 2014

NTIS Expands Free Access to Federal Technical Reports

The National Technical Reports Library (NTRL)<http://www.ntis.gov/products/ntrl/> is now offering the American public free public access to a searchable online database of approximately three million federal science and technology reports. The library is a service of the U.S. Commerce Department's National Technical Information Service<http://www.ntis.gov/>.

NTIS, a federal agency that does not receive appropriations from Congress, previously charged a fee to provide full-text electronic copies of federal documents in its collection.

The full text for 800,000 of these documents can be downloaded immediately in electronic PDF format without charge. The remaining NTRL reports, most published before 1995, must be scanned from microfiche archival files before being provided either as electronic PDF's  or in print for a fee. However, each time a microfiche document is scanned to fulfill such a request, the agency will add the electronic full-text PDF to its online database for subsequent free public download.

"Our mission is to collect and broadly disseminate federal science and technology information using a self-supporting business model," said NTIS Director Bruce Borzino. "However, we also recognize that a number of the documents previously offered for a fee through our website were available for free from other sources. The public should not be treated differently depending on which website they visit to download a federal document."

The agency will also continue to offer a range of premium subscription-based services to individuals, universities, corporations, and other institutions for varying levels of access to all documents in its collection. Access outside the U.S. is available via individual and institutional subscriptions.

""We have continually updated our pricing and business models in response to changing times and we'll continue to do so," said Borzino.  "We are excited about the new Public Access NTRL and hope to see a substantial increase in the use of federally funded research in all formats as a direct result."

 

Contact Us

Rami Attebury, Government Documents Librarian
208-885-2503

Christine Gray, Library Assistant III
208-885-6344

Marian Murta Bell, Library Assistant I
208-855-6344

Reading Room Location: 1st Floor Hallway, Room 104


Bringing the world to Idaho ... and Idaho to the world. Give to the Library.




Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip